Sunday, February 18, 2018
Mark Berry

The VIJHL 2017-18 year-end award presentations have commenced and the Westshore Wolves have picked up the lion’s share of the awards with more coming later this week during the first round of the playoffs. 

Brandon Tutte has earned the Jamie Robertson Memorial Award (Most Sportsmanlike Player) and the Walt McWilliams Memorial Award (Unsung hero). The Westshore captain was third in league scoring with just 16 minutes in penalties through the regular season campaign.

Cameron Coutre won the Brian Harrison Award as the league’s top forward and he’s set to win more later in the week. The talented 19 year old earned multi-point games on 21 occasions.

Trevor Bottomley demonstrated throughout his entire Junior career that he is an elite defenceman and it’s only fitting that as a 20 year old that he was presented with the Jack Kingston Award as the VIJHL’s top defenceman.

Derek Krall with 17 Buccaneers’ wins on the season and a .921 save percentage captured the Ray’s Sports Centre Trophy as the top goaltender. On the same weekend of the announcement, Derek was called up by the BCHL Powell River Kings and picked up his second Junior ‘A’ win stopping 46 of 47 shots and earning 1st star honours.

Buc’s Head Coach Curtis Toneff and Saanich Braves bench boss Sam Waterfield were named the Eddie “The Storm” Kingston Trophy winners as ‘Coach of the Year’.

The Most Valuable Player honours went to Saanich goaltender, Riley Mathieson. The Jamie Benn Trophy winner boasted a 2.60 GAA, a .925 save percentage and an astonishing goals saved above average stat of just under 34.

Kyle Ireland received the nod as the Jeff King Award winner. This year’s top Broadcaster split his efforts between the Oceanside Generals, Nanaimo Buccaneers and the entire VIJHL. Kyle’s contributions on the radio, Hockey TV and social media were boundless.

Stay tuned for more VIJHL award winners soon.