Monday, April 2, 2018
Mark F Berry

Congratulations to the 2017/18 VIJHL Champion Campbell River Storm. For the second straight year they came back from a 3-2 series deficit to capture the Brent Patterson Memorial Trophy in Game 7. The Saanich Braves came close after an incredible second half to the season pushing the VIJHL Champions to the brink.

The Storm will represent the VIJHL at the Cyclone Taylor Cup starting April 12 in Richmond. They play the host Richmond Sockeyes on the Thursday night at Minoru Arena to open their tournament.

For the first time in 15 years, Campbell River captured the regular season title (Andy Hebenton Award) edging out the Nanaimo Buccaneers in the final days of the 48 game campaign.

Storm players like Dawson Frank (17 goals in the playoffs), Darren Hards (2nd in regular season scoring), Kyle Kaufmann, Brett Kinley, Dylan McCann, Jalen Price, Mitch Stapley and Liam Murphy, to name a few, contributed immensely to the championship run.

Other Storm notables include Jake McKenzie, Joe Gage, Cole Slaney, Reid Wheeldon, Pearce Messer, Damon Porter, Logan Cursley, Aiden Sutherland, Ryan Butler, Cody Savey, Reid Lindsay, Timon Prexler, Aidan Bate-Smith and AP's Noah Fladager, Davis Frank, Gabe Schovanek, Dylan Garand, Keenan Toal and Jackson Dyke.